How to Reset a Nest Camera

Introduction

If your Nest Camera is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

? What type of camera would you like to factory reset?

  1. Nest Cam IQ Indoor
  2. Nest Cam IQ Outdoor
  3. Nest Cam Indoor
  4. Nest Cam Outdoor
  5. Dropcam

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If your Nest Camera is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

Warning: Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences.

Here's how to factory reset your Nest Camera:

Note: This procedure only applies to the Nest Cam IQ Indoor and Nest Cam IQ Outdoor devices.

  1. Locate the reset button:
    • On the Nest Cam IQ Indoor the reset button is on the bottom side of the camera stand.
      Reset button location highlighted on bottom of camera
    • On the Nest Cam IQ Outdoor the reset button is on the front side of the camera, below the Nest logo.
      Reset button location highlighted on front of camera
  2. Plug in your camera so it has power. Keep it plugged in throughout the following steps.
    Camera being plugged into power outlet
  3. Using an unfolded small paperclip or other pointed object, press and hold the reset button for several seconds.
  4. Keep pressing the button while your camera chimes and its light ring rotates yellow for 5 seconds.
    Note: If you want to cancel the factory reset, release the button while the light ring is rotating yellow.
  5. When the light ring starts rotating blue, release the button.
    Ring light on front of camera
  6. Now your camera will reset itself to factory defaults. The light ring will rotate blue, and then all lights will turn off. You’ll know the factory reset is complete when your camera chimes and the light ring starts pulsing blue slowly.
  7. After the factory reset, your camera will appear as Offline in the Nest app. It will stay this way until you remove it from your Nest Account.
    Camera showing offline in mobile app

Removing a camera from the Nest Account will revert all its settings to defaults and permanently delete all of its recorded Video History.

The steps for removing a camera from the Nest Account are the same whether you’re using a mobile device or a computer. Here's how to do it:

  1. Open the Nest app on your mobile device. If you’re on a computer, go to home.nest.com with your internet browser.
    Mobile app icon
  2. On the home screen, select the camera that you want to remove.
    Home screen of mobile app
  3. Tap the gear icon in the top right corner of the screen to open the cameras' settings.
    Gear symbol pointed out on mobile app screen
  4. Select Remove camera at the bottom of the screen.
    Remove camera option at the bottom of the screen
  5. Tap Remove on the confirmation window.
    Camera removal confirmation query screen
  6. You’ll get a confirmation email from Nest, letting you know that the camera has been removed from your Nest Account.
    Camera removal confirmation email
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept