How to Factory Reset a TP-Link Router

Introduction

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

? Do you wish to reset your router?

  1. Yes.
  2. No.

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all your settings back to the defaults.

  1. Ensure that your router is powered ON.
  2. Look for the WPS / RESET button often found on the rear panel of the router.
    • You may need a pin to reach it on some models.
      Back of router with reset button highlighted
  3. Push this button for at least 10 seconds to reset the device.
  4. The SYS or RESET LED will flash faster than normal.
    Router with WPS/Reset button highlighted
  5. Release the button and allow the router to restart with the default factory settings.
  6. The factory default settings should now be restored. Log back into your router to begin re-configuring the device.

The default credentials are:

  • Username: admin
  • Password: admin
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept