How to Factory Reset a Norton Core Router

Introduction

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

? What would you like to do with your Norton Core Router?

  1. Factory Reset
  2. Factory Reset via Norton Core App
  3. Factory Reset & Erase Data

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

Norton Core does not erase your personal data on the cloud when doing a factory reset.

  1. Power on the Norton Core Router.
    person holding plug in wall outlet
  2. Press and hold the Reset button for ten seconds underneath the device.
    Norton router with reset button highlighted
  3. Wait for 1 minute while the device blinks rapidly.
  4. The light changes to a slow blinking light to confirm the reset is successful.

Resetting the Core through the app is possible only if the Core is connected to the Internet.

  1. Tap the Menu icon on the top left corner.
    Norton Core app, menu highlighted
  2. Tap Settings.
    Menu with Settings highlighted
  3. Tap Router.
    Settings page with Router highlighted
  4. Tap Reset.
    Reset highlighted
  5. Tap Factory Reset.
    Factory reset highlighted
  6. Tap Reset.
    Reset button
  7. Tap Confirm.
    Confirmation screen
  8. Wait for 1 minute while the device blinks rapidly.
  9. The light changes to a slow blinking light.
  10. Your Norton Core app will display the welcome screen.
    Welcome screen
  11. Your router has been reset.

If you choose Factory Reset & Erase Data, this option will remove all your Norton Core specific data stored in the cloud. This will also unlink your Norton Core Router from your Norton account.

  1. Power on the Norton Core Router.
    Power supply plugging into outlet
  2. Launch the Norton Core app and tap the Menu icon on the top left corner.
    Norton Core menu
  3. Tap Settings.
    Settings screen
  4. Tap Router.
    Settings screen showing router highlighted
  5. Tap Reset.
    Settings screen Reset highlighted
  6. Tap Factory Reset & Erase Data.
    Factory reset setting screen
  7. Tap Reset.
    Confirmation screen
  8. Tap Confirm.
    Final confirmation screen
  9. After the reset completes, the Norton Core app will display the welcome screen.
    Welcome setup screen
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept