Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Factory Reset a Canon EOS Rebel T5i Camera

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

Introduction

There are times you may want to factory reset your Canon Camera.

  • Selling your camera to another person
  • Troubleshooting issues with your camera

Canon EOS Rebel T5i Camera
This guide will walk you through resetting your Canon EOS Rebel T5i camera to factory defaults.

1 Factory Reset

Performing a factory reset on your camera will erase all custom settings you have set.

  1. Tap on the Menu button.
    dialog with camera and menu button is highlighted
  2. Tap on the 4th Wrench.
    menu with 4th wrench highlighted
  3. Tap on Clear Settings.
    menu with clear settings highlighted
  4. Tap on Clear All Camera Settings.
    meanu with clear all camera settings
  5. Tap on OK.
    clear all camera notifications with ok highlighted
  6. The camera has been reset and is ready for first time setup.

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

There are times you may want to factory reset your Canon Camera.

  • Selling your camera to another person
  • Troubleshooting issues with your camera

Canon EOS Rebel T5i Camera
This guide will walk you through resetting your Canon EOS Rebel T5i camera to factory defaults.

Performing a factory reset on your camera will erase all custom settings you have set.

  1. Tap on the Menu button.
    dialog with camera and menu button is highlighted
  2. Tap on the 4th Wrench.
    menu with 4th wrench highlighted
  3. Tap on Clear Settings.
    menu with clear settings highlighted
  4. Tap on Clear All Camera Settings.
    meanu with clear all camera settings
  5. Tap on OK.
    clear all camera notifications with ok highlighted
  6. The camera has been reset and is ready for first time setup.