How to Restore Default Settings on a PlayStation 3

Introduction

You may want to factory reset your PS3 in order to resolve an error or to clean off personal data and games before selling or giving it away.

If you wish, we can backup your data first or go directly to doing a factory restore.
Playstation 3

Performing a factory reset deletes all your data and cannot be undone, you may want to back up your files first to an external hard drive or a USB storage device. 

? Would you like to back up your data first?

  1. Yes
  2. No

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may want to factory reset your PS3 in order to resolve an error or to clean off personal data and games before selling or giving it away.

If you wish, we can backup your data first or go directly to doing a factory restore.
Playstation 3

Performing a factory reset deletes all your data and cannot be undone, you may want to back up your files first to an external hard drive or a USB storage device. 

Screenshots and other data stored on the PS3 system can be backed up to an external storage device like a hard drive or USB drive. You may wish to back this up for safe keeping or prior to a factory reset.

To avoid damaging your system, do not turn off your PS3 while backing up your data.

 To back up your data saved in PS3 system storage:

  1. Select Settings, then System Settings.
    PS3 Menu with Settings and System Settings highlighted. Screenshot
  2. Choose Backup Utility.
    System settings menu with Backup Utility highlighted. Screenshot
  3. Choose Back Up.
    Backup utility with Back Up highlighted. Screenshot

To avoid damaging your system, do not turn off your PS3 while backing up your data.

To restore system software to its default settings:

  1. Select Settings, then scroll down and select System Settings.
    PS3 Menu with Settings and System Settings highlighted. Screenshot
  2. Scroll down and select Restore PS3 System.
    PS3 Menu with Restore ps3 System highlighted. Screenshot
  3. Select Yes to confirm.
    PS3 Confirmation with yes highlighted. Screenshot
  4. Choose either Quick Format or Full Format. Quick Format just tells the PS3 that the files are gone, but ready to be overwritten. A Full Format actually deletes the files, but this can take a long time.
    PS3 Menu with Quick and Full Format options highlighted. Screenshot
  5. Choose Yes on the confirmation. If you did a Full Format, it will display the approximate amount of time it will take.
    PS3 Confirmation with yes highlighted. Screenshot
  6. Once done, your PS3 will be returned to factory settings.
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept