How to Reset a SmartThings Hub

Introduction

If your SmartThings Hub is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

? Which SmartThings hub are you trying to factory reset?

  1. SmartThings Hub (v1)
  2. Samsung SmartThings Hub (v2)
  3. Samsung Connect Home
  4. Samsung Connect Home Pro

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If your SmartThings Hub is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences.

To delete a location and reset a SmartThings Hub:

  1. Open the SmartThings Mobile app on your mobile device.
    Mobile app icon
  2. Tap the Menu / More icon.
    Mobile app main screen
  3. Tap the gear icon beside the location with the hub you wish to reset.
    • To choose a different location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the location.
  4. Tap Remove Location.
  5. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete.
  6. The hub is now reset to factory defaults.

Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences.

There are two methods to resetting the Samsung SmartThings Hub (v2) to factory defaults.

Method 1:

  1. Make sure the hub is plugged in with the provided power cable.
  2. Locate the red recessed reset button on the back side of the hub.
    Rear of hub with reset button highlighted
  3. Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.
  4. When the LED on the front side switches from flashing yellow to solid yellow, release the button.
    Front of hub with LED light highlighted
  5. The hub will take 10-15 minutes to fully factory reset.
  6. Once the LEDs on the hub turn solid green the settings are restored to their factory defaults.

Method 2:

  1. Open the SmartThings Mobile app on your mobile device.
    Mobile app icon
  2. Tap the Menu / More icon.
    Mobile app main screen
  3. Tap the gear icon beside the location with the hub you wish to reset.
    • To choose a different location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the location.
  4. Tap Remove Location.
  5. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete.
  6. The hub is now reset to factory defaults.

Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences.

To factory reset your Samsung Connect Home:

  1. Make sure the hub is plugged in with the provided power cable.
  2. Locate the reset button on the back side of the hub.
    Reset button pointed out on rear of both types of hubs
  3. Press and hold the reset button for 10 seconds.
  4. Release the reset button when the LED on the front side goes dark.
    LED light pointed out on front of hub
  5. Wait for the LED to flash red and green indicating the device has been reset to factory defaults.
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept