How to Manage User Profiles on a PlayStation 4

1 Manage Profiles

Having a PlayStation 4 User Profile and PSN account will enable the console to store your saved game data, achievements, screenshots and video to the cloud as well as remember your preferences.

What you need Before you Start:

  • The PlayStation 4 should be connected to a reliable Internet connection.

? What would you like to do?

  1. Create a new user profile
  2. Create a new PSN account
  3. Delete a User Profile
  4. Nothing, I'm done

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

Having a PlayStation 4 User Profile and PSN account will enable the console to store your saved game data, achievements, screenshots and video to the cloud as well as remember your preferences.

What you need Before you Start:

  • The PlayStation 4 should be connected to a reliable Internet connection.

These steps will guide you through the process of setting up your user profile.

  1. Turn on the console. Press the "PS" button in the center to activate your PlayStation 4 DualShock controller, then select "New User."
    PS Button.

  2. Select "Create a User." This screen also gives you the option to play as a guest, which creates a temporary profile whose data is deleted when it's logged out.
  3. Link your PlayStation Network (PSN) account. If you have an existing PSN account, you can use it and click Sign In. Click on Create an Account if you don't have one yet.
    PSN Sign in.

  4. Activate your console as your primary PS4. You'll most likely be creating this account on your home PlayStation 4, so you'll want to activate that device as the primary console for your PlayStation Network account.
    Activate button.
  1. Click on the Create an Account button.
    PS4 account creation page with Create an Account selected. Screenshot.

  2. Enter your country, language and date of birth.
  3. Enter an email address and password.
  4. Fill in Online ID, First Name, and Last Name to create an Online ID. This will be the name by which you're known to other gamers on the PlayStation Network.
    Online ID creation. Screenshot.

  5. You can also choose a profile picture by selecting the smiley face and connect your account to Facebook, if you like.
  6. Choose your privacy settings. Decide if Anyone, Friends of Friends, Friends Only, or No One will be able to see your list of PSN friends.
    Privacy Settings.

  7. The last step to create a PlayStation Network account is to Accept the Terms of Service and User Agreement and you're done.

What Happens When you Delete a User?

  • All game save data and screenshots generated by that user will be erased from the hard drive.

  • Any game licenses or applications that were purchased by that profile and were shared will no longer be available unless a different profile on your PS4 also owns the license and/or has your PS4 registered as their primary console.

  • Any parental control restrictions set by the deleted profile will remain on your PS4 until they are changed via another Family Manager account.

Delete a User Profile:

  1. Go to Settings.
    Settings.

  2. Select Parental Controls/Family Management.
    Settings menu with Parental / Family Management selected. Screenshot.

  3. If you are not already logged in, you will be asked to log in with your PSN account.
  4. Select Family Management.
    Family Management with example users listed. Screenshot.

  5. Under Family Members, select the name of the profile you want to delete, then select Delete User Profile.
  6. Follow the prompts to complete the process.
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept