Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Fix Webpage has a Redirect Loop in Chrome

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

Introduction

A Google Chrome redirect loop error occurs when the owner of a website changes their website URL (address) and the old one redirects you to the new one. Because this could be used maliciously, Google gives you an error when you try to reach the site.

As a user browsing the web, the only way to fix this error is to clear your browsing history or cookies.

Redirect loop image

1 Clear History and Cached Browsing Data

If you're still having issues on a particular website, your browser could be holding onto some outdated or bad data in the form of an old cookie, cached version of the website, etc. Clearing this data allows your browser to load the website freshly as if it had never been there before.

  1. Open Google Chrome.
    Google Chrome.
  2. Select the menu at the top.
    Menu button highlighted and pointed out in Google Chrome.
  3. Click More tools, then select Clear browsing data.
    Chrome menu with More Tools and Clear Browsing Data highlighted.
  4. Select Advanced at the top. For Time range, select All time. Place a checkmark next to each item you'd like to clear, then select Clear data. We recommend selecting everything we've shown here except passwords and autofill form data.
    Chrome settings showing how to delete history
    Browsing history
    Recommended
    This clears the memory of the pages you've browsed to.
    Download history
    Recommended
    This clears the memory of files you've downloaded.
    Cookies and other site data
    Recommended
    Pages store small data to remember you between visits to their pages. These are called cookies. This option clears cookies.
    Cached images and files
    Recommended
    Pages are downloaded and saved to your computer, so they are faster to display. This option clears cached copies, which can resolve many problems you may have.
    Passwords and other sign-in data
    Not Recommended
    The browser saves usernames and passwords for sites you sign into. There's no need to clear this, normally.
    Autofill form data
    Not Recommended
    Your browser stores other form data, such as your address, common search terms, and other things you type often on sites. There's no need to clear this, normally.
    Site Settings
    Recommended
    Checking this will clear specialty site settings you may have save.
    Hosted app data
    Recommended
    Some sites, especially Google apps, store extra app data that will automatically re-download when needed. Clearing this will cause a very small wait and solves problems with those apps.

2 Try the Webpage Again

Once cleaned up, try the website again. If you're still having issues it is most likely caused by the site itself. To resolve this, you'll need to get in contact with the webmaster and let them know. If that's not possible you'll just have to wait.

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

A Google Chrome redirect loop error occurs when the owner of a website changes their website URL (address) and the old one redirects you to the new one. Because this could be used maliciously, Google gives you an error when you try to reach the site.

As a user browsing the web, the only way to fix this error is to clear your browsing history or cookies.

Redirect loop image

If you're still having issues on a particular website, your browser could be holding onto some outdated or bad data in the form of an old cookie, cached version of the website, etc. Clearing this data allows your browser to load the website freshly as if it had never been there before.

  1. Open Google Chrome.
    Google Chrome.
  2. Select the menu at the top.
    Menu button highlighted and pointed out in Google Chrome.
  3. Click More tools, then select Clear browsing data.
    Chrome menu with More Tools and Clear Browsing Data highlighted.
  4. Select Advanced at the top. For Time range, select All time. Place a checkmark next to each item you'd like to clear, then select Clear data. We recommend selecting everything we've shown here except passwords and autofill form data.
    Chrome settings showing how to delete history
    Browsing history
    Recommended
    This clears the memory of the pages you've browsed to.
    Download history
    Recommended
    This clears the memory of files you've downloaded.
    Cookies and other site data
    Recommended
    Pages store small data to remember you between visits to their pages. These are called cookies. This option clears cookies.
    Cached images and files
    Recommended
    Pages are downloaded and saved to your computer, so they are faster to display. This option clears cached copies, which can resolve many problems you may have.
    Passwords and other sign-in data
    Not Recommended
    The browser saves usernames and passwords for sites you sign into. There's no need to clear this, normally.
    Autofill form data
    Not Recommended
    Your browser stores other form data, such as your address, common search terms, and other things you type often on sites. There's no need to clear this, normally.
    Site Settings
    Recommended
    Checking this will clear specialty site settings you may have save.
    Hosted app data
    Recommended
    Some sites, especially Google apps, store extra app data that will automatically re-download when needed. Clearing this will cause a very small wait and solves problems with those apps.

Once cleaned up, try the website again. If you're still having issues it is most likely caused by the site itself. To resolve this, you'll need to get in contact with the webmaster and let them know. If that's not possible you'll just have to wait.