Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Factory Reset an ASUS Router

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

? Would you like to continue resetting your router?

  1. Yes.
  2. No.

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

To perform a factory reset, please follow the steps below:

  1. Disconnect all cables from the router except the power cord
  2. Ensure that your router is on.
  3. Locate the reset button on the router, usually found on the back of the router in a pin sized hole between two triangles.
    Router rear reset button.
  4. Use a paper clip to press and hold the reset button for 10 to 15 seconds until all the lights on the router flash, then release.
  5. Release the button and allow the router to restart with the default factory settings.
  6. The factory default settings should now be restored. Log back into your router to begin re-configuring the device.

The default credentials are:

  • Username: admin
  • Password: admin