How to Factory Reset an Acer One 10 Tablet

Introduction

If you're having trouble with your Acer One 10, a reset may solve the problem.

A reset may be helpful if your system is not working well and it’s been a while since you installed anything new, or, if you tried a restore and it didn’t solve your problem.

We can backup your data first or go directly to the factory restore steps.

Performing a factory reset deletes all your data and cannot be undone, you may want to back up your files first to an external hard drive or a USB storage device.

? Would you like to back up your data first?

  1. Yes
  2. No

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If you're having trouble with your Acer One 10, a reset may solve the problem.

A reset may be helpful if your system is not working well and it’s been a while since you installed anything new, or, if you tried a restore and it didn’t solve your problem.

We can backup your data first or go directly to the factory restore steps.

Performing a factory reset deletes all your data and cannot be undone, you may want to back up your files first to an external hard drive or a USB storage device.

There are several ways to back up your PC.

  1. Select the Start button, then select Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Backup and Restore.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • If you never used Windows Backup before, or have recently upgraded your version of Windows, select Set up backup, and then follow the steps in the wizard.
    • If you created a backup before, you can wait for your regularly scheduled backup to occur, or you can manually create a new backup by selecting Back up now.
    • If you created a backup before, but want to make a new, full backup rather than updating the old one, select Create new, full backup, and then follow the steps in the wizard.

Do not back up files to the same hard disk that Windows is installed on. For example, do not back up files to a recovery partition. Always store media used for backups (external hard disks, DVDs, or CDs) in a secure place to prevent unauthorized people from gaining access to your files; a fireproof location separate from your computer is recommended. You might also consider encrypting the data on your backup.

To make a system image

System images contain all of the info on your PC at a particular state

  1. Right-click the Start button, then select Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Backup and Restore.
  2. In the left pane, choose Create a system image, and then follow the steps in the wizard.
    Windows create a system image button
  3. If prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation.

To create a system image of a drive, it must be formatted to use the NTFS file system. If you save the system image on a hard drive or USB flash drive, it must be formatted to use the NTFS file system.

For the next steps we need to know which operating system you have.

Resetting your computer lets you choose whether to remove just your files or fully clean the drive, and then reinstall Windows. Here’s how:

  1. Swipe in from the right edge of the screen and tap Settings.
    (If you're using a mouse, point to the upper-right corner of the screen, move the mouse pointer down, and click Settings.)
  2. Tap or click Change PC settings > Update and recovery > Recovery.
  3. Under Remove everything and reinstall Windows, tap or click Get Started.
    Windows 8.1 pc settings screen showing get started under remove everything and reinstall windows

  4. Tap or click Next, and choose either Just remove my files or Fully clean the drive. The option to clean the drive is more secure, but takes much longer. For example, if you are selling or recycling your computer, you should choose to clean the drive. If you are keeping it, you just need to remove your files.
  5. Tap or click Reset.

Choosing to remove everything erases all files from the computer. Make absolutely sure you have all data backed up if you do not with to lose any personal files during this process.

Resetting your Windows 10 system will return it back to its original state. It will delete any data or programs you have saved so make sure your backups are up to date.

  1. Click the Start button, then select Settings.
    Start menu with settings icon highlighted.
  2. Click Update & Security.
    Settings with update and security highlighted.
  3. Choose Recovery on the left.
    Update and security settings with recover highlighted.
  4. On the top right, click Get started under Reset this PC.
    Recovery settings with reset this PC highlighted.
  5. In the new window that opens, choose if you want to keep your files, or remove everything.
    Reset this PC options.
    • Keep my files should not delete any personal files you have stored on your computer, but will remove all applications you've installed, as well as all settings you've changed.
      • You will be given a short list of programs Windows can find that will be removed, reminding you that you'll need to re-install them after the reset if you want to use those programs. Click Next when you are ready to begin.
        Dialog showing apps to be removed with next button highlighted.
    • Remove everything will delete your personal files, applications you've installed, and all settings will be set to their default values.
      • You'll be presented with options to just remove files, or clean the drive.
        Drive cleaning options.
        • If you're keeping the computer and are not worried about someone attempting to retrieve data from the drive, select Just remove my files.
        • If you are selling or giving away the computer, choosing Remove files and clean the drive will make it much harder to retrieve anything. This process will take a very long time to complete.
  6. Once you make your choice, you will be given a final list of what will be done. Click Reset when you are ready.
    Details of what will be done during reset.

    There is no going back, and no chance to retrieve anything removed during the reset process. Please make absolutely sure your backups are up to date before pressing Reset.

  7. Once you click Reset, the process will start.
    Reset in progress.
  8. Your computer will reboot, and give you the progress of the reset at the bottom.
    Reset in progress during reboot.

Windows will guide you through setting it up with your username, password and other basic settings, just like when you first purchased your computer.

We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept