How to Factory Reset a Sony a7R III Camera

Introduction

If your Sony camera is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps, or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

1 Factory Reset

Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences. Even if you use reset the camera, all movies and photos are retained.

Here's how to factory reset your Sony camera using the menu:

  1. Set the Power Switch to ON to turn on the camera.
    Camera power switch
  2. Press the Menu button on the camera.
    Menu button on camera
  3. Use the Control Wheel to navigate the menu. You can turn the control wheel or press the arrows to move the selection frame. Press the button in the center of the control wheel to set the selected item.
    Camera control wheel
  4. Go right to Setup, go through the numbered screens and look for Setting Reset then select it.
    Camera screen with highlighted option
  5. Highlight Initialize and select it.
    Camera screen with highlighted button
  6. Confirm you want to reset the cameras settings to defaults by selecting OK.
    Camera screen with reset confirmation query
  7. The camera will reboot and show a blank screen for a few seconds, then it will ask you to set the date. At this point the camera is ready to be reconfigured.

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If your Sony camera is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps, or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults.

Resetting the device to factory defaults will erase all saved settings and preferences. Even if you use reset the camera, all movies and photos are retained.

Here's how to factory reset your Sony camera using the menu:

  1. Set the Power Switch to ON to turn on the camera.
    Camera power switch
  2. Press the Menu button on the camera.
    Menu button on camera
  3. Use the Control Wheel to navigate the menu. You can turn the control wheel or press the arrows to move the selection frame. Press the button in the center of the control wheel to set the selected item.
    Camera control wheel
  4. Go right to Setup, go through the numbered screens and look for Setting Reset then select it.
    Camera screen with highlighted option
  5. Highlight Initialize and select it.
    Camera screen with highlighted button
  6. Confirm you want to reset the cameras settings to defaults by selecting OK.
    Camera screen with reset confirmation query
  7. The camera will reboot and show a blank screen for a few seconds, then it will ask you to set the date. At this point the camera is ready to be reconfigured.
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept