Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Factory Reset a Nintendo Wii U

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

If your Nintendo Wii U gaming console is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps, or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults. This guide will help you with that process.

To be able to start this process, you need to make sure your console is connected to the internet.

Nintendo Wii U

? Do you need help connecting your Wii U to the internet?

  1. Yes
  2. No

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If your Nintendo Wii U gaming console is not working as intended and you've exhausted all other possible repair steps, or you want to give it to someone else, you can reset it to factory defaults. This guide will help you with that process.

To be able to start this process, you need to make sure your console is connected to the internet.

Nintendo Wii U

Show Me How

Clicking this button will open a new guide that will provide you with steps to resolve your issue.

All software data, save data, user information, and other information saved to the console will be deleted.

  1. From the main screen, go to System.
    System highlighted on Wii U main screen.
  2. Then scroll to the right, all the way to Delete All Content & Settings and select the option with the same name.
    Delete All Content & Settings highlighted in Wii U system menu.
  3. You will be shown a disclaimer message on the TV screen. Read through it and select Next.
  4. Back on the console, confirm you want to proceed by selecting Delete Everything.