How to Factory Reset a Netgear Router

Introduction

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

? Would you like to continue resetting your NETGEAR Router?

  1. Yes
  2. No

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may need to reset your router if you can no longer access the router's web-based setup page, or you forgot the router's password, or due to a troubleshooting process.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

The router's model number and version number, are printed on the product label, located on the bottom or back panel of your NETGEAR device.

Bottom label on Netgear router.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

  1. Ensure that your router is on.
  2. Locate the Restore Factory Settings or Reset button on the back of your router.
    Restore Factory Settings button.
  3. Press and hold the Restore Factory Settings or Reset button for about seven seconds using a paper clip or similar object.
    Performing a factory reset.
  4. Release the Restore Factory Settings or Reset button and wait for your router to reboot.
  5. The power light will stop blinking and you will see a solid light.
  6. The factory default settings should now be restored.
  7. Once it fully reboots, you can use the default username and password printed on the bottom or the back of the router to connect your device.
    Bottom router label with example default credentials.

Resetting your router will clear all your home networking settings and will change all of your settings back to the defaults.

These models do not have a Restore Factory Settings or Reset button.

  1. Press and hold the Wireless On/Off and WPS buttons simultaneously for about six seconds until the Power LED blinks red.
    Wireless and WPS buttons on Netgear router.
  2. Release the Wireless On/Off and WPS buttons.
  3. Wait for the router to reboot. The factory default settings are restored.

The default credentials are:

  • Username: admin
  • Password: password
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept