Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Factory Reset a GoPro HERO5 Session Camera

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

You may want to factory reset your GoPro Camera if you are experiencing a problem and want to make sure the camera settings are not contributing to the issue. You may also want to perform a factory reset if you are experiencing lag time when changing settings or are having HDMI connectivity issues.

This resets camera defaults, date/time, and camera username/password. It also unregisters the device from your GoPro Plus account.

GoPro camera lineup.

? Do you want to factory reset your GoPro camera?

  1. Yes
  2. No

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

You may want to factory reset your GoPro Camera if you are experiencing a problem and want to make sure the camera settings are not contributing to the issue. You may also want to perform a factory reset if you are experiencing lag time when changing settings or are having HDMI connectivity issues.

This resets camera defaults, date/time, and camera username/password. It also unregisters the device from your GoPro Plus account.

GoPro camera lineup.

GoPro Hero5 camera with Menu button highlighted above and shutter below.

  1. Use the Shutter button (2) to turn the camera off.
  2. Press the Menu button (1) to turn on the status screen back on.
  3. Press the Menu button (1) repeatedly until it displays the Exit Menu.
  4. Press and hold Shutter button for 10 seconds.
  5. Press the Menu button to highlight Yes, then press the Shutter button to select it.

In addition to Camera Defaults, this resets date/time, camera username/password, and unregisters the device from your GoPro Plus account.