How to Factory Reset a Fitbit Blaze Fitness Band

Introduction

First, note that your Fitbit Blaze is more of a collector and transmitter of data than a storage device. All of your information is sent to your dashboard and saved online. Because the Blaze only stores limited information (a few settings and current fitness data), it does not have a traditional factory reset. However, you can clear all information from the device and un-link it from your account, essentially returning it to its original "out-of-the-box" state.

To keep all of your latest data, be sure to sync before completing the next steps.

? Are you using a mobile or desktop device to access your Fitbit data?

  1. iPhone/iPad
  2. Android
  3. Windows 10 Mobile
  4. Desktop

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

First, note that your Fitbit Blaze is more of a collector and transmitter of data than a storage device. All of your information is sent to your dashboard and saved online. Because the Blaze only stores limited information (a few settings and current fitness data), it does not have a traditional factory reset. However, you can clear all information from the device and un-link it from your account, essentially returning it to its original "out-of-the-box" state.

To keep all of your latest data, be sure to sync before completing the next steps.

  1. Open the Fitbit app.
    Fitbit app.

  2. Tap on the Account icon.
    Account option.

  3. Tap on the device that you want to delete.
    List of Fitbit devices.
  4. Swipe up to view the bottom of the screen.
    Swipe direction indicated by arrow on mobile screen.
  5. Tap on Remove This [Fitbit].
    Remove option in mobile app.
  6. Tap Remove This [Fitbit] in the dialogue box.
    Device removal confirmation query.

When this Fitbit is added to another account, the tracker will automatically apply the new account settings.

  1. Navigate to Settings.
    Settings icon.
  2. Tap Bluetooth. Note: Bluetooth must be switched on for a list of devices to display.
    Screenshot of settings with Bluetooth menu item highlighted.
  3. Tap the "i" icon to the right of the device name.
    Screenshot of Bluetooth menu with info icon highlighted.
  4. Tap Forget this Device.
    Screenshot of Paired Bluetooth device info page highlighting Forget This Device.
  5. Tap Forget this Device in the dialogue box. Your device is no longer recognized by your phone or tablet.
    Screenshot of conformation page with Forget Device highlighted.

A restart deletes any saved notifications.

  1. Press and hold the Back (left) and Select (right bottom) buttons on the Blaze until you see the Fitbit logo. The logo should appear in less than 10 seconds.
    Fitbit Blaze.
  2. Let go of the buttons.
  1. Open the Fitbit app.
    Fitbit app

  2. Tap the Menu button in the top left of the screen.
    Menu symbol pointed out in mobile app.

  3. Tap Devices.
    Devices option highlighted in menu.

  4. Tap and hold [Fitbit Name] that you want to delete.
    List of Fitbit devices.

  5. Tap Unpair again in the dialogue box.

When this Fitbit is added to another account, the tracker will automatically apply the new account settings.

  1. Swipe down on your screen to access the menu.
  2. Hold down on the Bluetooth icon to bring up Bluetooth options.
    Quick Menu Settings with Bluetooth icon highlighted.
  3. Slide Bluetooth ON if it isn't already.
    Bluetooth menu with toggle highlighted.
  4. Tap the gear icon next to the device you wish to unpair.
    Bluetooth menu with gear highlighted.
  5. Tap Unpair.
    Paired Bluetooth device menu with Unpair button highlighted.
  6. The Bluetooth device has now been unpaired and can be re-added if you wish.
  1. Launch the Fitbit app.
    Fitbit app.
  2. Tap the Account symbol.
    Account option selected. Screenshot.
  3. Tap the device that you want to delete.
    List of devices. Screenshot.
  4. Tap the delete button at the bottom of your screen.
    Delete button.
  5. Tap Remove This Device in the pop-up window.

When this Fitbit is added to another account, the tracker will automatically apply the new account settings.

  1. Navigate to https://www.fitbit.com/home and sign in to view your Dashboard.
    Fitbit logo.
  2. Click the Settings icon in the top right of the screen.
    Settings icon.
  3. Click Settings in the drop-down menu.
    Settings menu selected from the drop-down. Screenshot.
  4. Click Devices on the left side of the screen.
    Personal Info screen with Devices selected. Screenshot.
  5. Click on the device that you would like to delete.
    List of devices.
  6. Scroll to the bottom of your screen, and click Remove this [Fitbit] from Your Account.
    Remove this Fitbit from your account selected.
  7. Click Remove in the pop-up window.
  8. Click OK in the next pop-up window. You have successfully removed your device.

When this Fitbit is added to another account, the tracker will automatically apply the new account settings.

We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept