Need help?

Chat with a Tech Pro about services & pricing.

Special Offer: All students, parents, & educators get 50% off tech support for the entire school year. Select the Support - Annual plan and enter code “EdTech50” during checkout.

How to Delete a User Account on a Mac

Authored by:
Support.com Tech Pro Team
This Guided Path® was written and reviewed by Support.com’s Tech Pro team. With decades of experience, our Tech Pros are passionate about making technology work for you. We love feedback! Let us know what you think about this Guided Path® by rating it at the end.

Introduction

In This Guide
You'll Learn:
  • How to delete existing user accounts on your Mac for each person that doesn't intend on using the computer anymore.

1 Delete User Profile

You must be signed into the primary or administrator account to be able to delete user accounts.

  1. Click the Apple menu (1), then click System Preferences (2).
    Screenshot of the Apple menu, with System Preferences selected.
  2. Click Users & Groups.
    Screenshot of the System Preferences window, with Users & Groups selected.
  3. If necessary, click the lock icon to unlock the settings of this window. You will be required to enter your Mac's administrator password.
    Screenshot of the lock icon.
  4. Click on the user account you would like to remove to highlight it, then click the Remove button beneath the list of users.
    Screenshot of the minus icon.

    If the user account you wish to delete is currently logged in, you will be unable to select it.

  5. A confirmation prompt will appear. Select what you want to do with the user account's home folder:
    • Save the home folder in a disk image: This archives all the user's documents and information so the user can be restored later if needed. The disk image is saved in /Users/Deleted Users/.
    • Don't change the home folder: The user's documents and information remain and the user can be restored later if needed. The home folder remains in /Users/.
    • Delete the home folder: The user information is deleted and the storage space is freed.
    Screenshot of the delete users screen. Options are Save the home folder in a disk image, don't change the home folder, and delete the home folder. There's a Delete User button in the lower-right corner.

    If you don't delete a user's home folder, you can restore the user and the contents of the home folder.

  6. Once you have made your selection, click Delete User.
    Screenshot of the delete user screen with an annotation around the Delete User button.

We're here to help!

chat
Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

In This Guide
You'll Learn:
  • How to delete existing user accounts on your Mac for each person that doesn't intend on using the computer anymore.

You must be signed into the primary or administrator account to be able to delete user accounts.

  1. Click the Apple menu (1), then click System Preferences (2).
    Screenshot of the Apple menu, with System Preferences selected.
  2. Click Users & Groups.
    Screenshot of the System Preferences window, with Users & Groups selected.
  3. If necessary, click the lock icon to unlock the settings of this window. You will be required to enter your Mac's administrator password.
    Screenshot of the lock icon.
  4. Click on the user account you would like to remove to highlight it, then click the Remove button beneath the list of users.
    Screenshot of the minus icon.

    If the user account you wish to delete is currently logged in, you will be unable to select it.

  5. A confirmation prompt will appear. Select what you want to do with the user account's home folder:
    • Save the home folder in a disk image: This archives all the user's documents and information so the user can be restored later if needed. The disk image is saved in /Users/Deleted Users/.
    • Don't change the home folder: The user's documents and information remain and the user can be restored later if needed. The home folder remains in /Users/.
    • Delete the home folder: The user information is deleted and the storage space is freed.
    Screenshot of the delete users screen. Options are Save the home folder in a disk image, don't change the home folder, and delete the home folder. There's a Delete User button in the lower-right corner.

    If you don't delete a user's home folder, you can restore the user and the contents of the home folder.

  6. Once you have made your selection, click Delete User.
    Screenshot of the delete user screen with an annotation around the Delete User button.