How to Delete a Message on a Windows Phone

Introduction

If you send and receive lots of text messages, those messages can accumulate and take up quite a significant amount of space on your device. Not only does your device store all the text messages that you send and receive, but it also hangs onto photo and video attachments as well. This guide will teach you how to free up space by removing messages.

Be careful when deleting text messages from your device, as there is no practical way to retrieve them once they have been removed.

Windows Mobile screen

? Do you want to delete an entire conversation (thread) or a specific text message?

  1. An entire conversation
  2. A single message

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

If you send and receive lots of text messages, those messages can accumulate and take up quite a significant amount of space on your device. Not only does your device store all the text messages that you send and receive, but it also hangs onto photo and video attachments as well. This guide will teach you how to free up space by removing messages.

Be careful when deleting text messages from your device, as there is no practical way to retrieve them once they have been removed.

Windows Mobile screen
  1. Open Messaging.
    Messaging icon
  2. Locate the conversation or thread you want to delete. Press and Hold the conversation.
    Windows messaging with a conversation highlighted. Screenshot
  3. A message appears that says delete, tap on Delete.
    Delete thread screen. Screenshot
  4. Select Delete to confirm deletion.
    Delete thread message with delete highlighted. Screenshot
  1. Open Messaging.
    Messaging icon
  2. Locate the conversation (thread) that has a message you want to delete. Tap the conversation.
    Windows messaging with a conversation highlighted. Screenshot
  3. Press and hold the specific message you want to delete.
    Conversation with a message highlighted. Screenshot
  4. A message appears that says delete, tap on Delete.
    Delete message. Screenshot
  5. Select Delete to confirm deletion.
    Delete message confirmation. Screenshot
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept