How to Clear My Internet History in Mozilla Firefox

Introduction

In This Guide
You'll Learn:
  • How to clear the web browsing history recorded in Mozilla Firefox to improve system performance and privacy or fix web browsing issues.

1 Clear Browser History

  1. Open Mozilla Firefox.
    Mozilla Firefox Icon
  2. Click the Menu button in the top right of the screen.
    Menu button
  3. Click on Options.
    Options highlighted
  4. Click on Privacy & Security.
    Privacy & Security highlighted
  5. Click the Clear History button located under the History category.
    Clear History button highlighted
  6. Select the time range you wish to clear.
    Time range highlighted
  7. Click the Details button to expand them.
    Details expand button highlighted
  8. Choose the item categories you wish to clear.
    Item categories highlighted
    Setting Checkbox
    Browsing & Download History Checked

    Browsing History - While you browse Your browser will keep track of every page you visit, to try to make it easier to return. This can become corrupt due to modern active web pages.

    Download History - These are a list of files you've downloaded recently. It is entirely safe to delete, or keep this list, as it won't affect pages. Checking this option does not delete the files you've downloaded, just the list the browser keeps.

    Form & Search History Checked
    Information from entering forms online, such as your name, address, or other filled in information. This does not affect how a page loads, and can slow you down on your most commonly used pages.
    Cookies Checked
    Cookies are how websites 'know' you when you visit them multiple times. This file can become corrupt, and simply downloading a new one can fix many problems.
    You will have to log back into any pages you use, such as mail or social media.
    Active Logins Checked
    Active logins are sites that you are currently logged into that you have asked to remember that you are logged into. Clearing them just logs you out of these sites.
    Offline Website Data Unchecked
    If you've allowed it, a website can store files on your computer so that you can continue to use it when you are not connected to the Internet.
    Site Preferences Unchecked
    Site specific preferences, including the saved zoom level for sites, character encoding, and the permissions for sites.
     
  9. Click the Clear Now button.
    Clear Now button highlighted

We're here to help!

Connect to a Tech Pro

Call or chat with a Tech Pro 24/7.

In This Guide
You'll Learn:
  • How to clear the web browsing history recorded in Mozilla Firefox to improve system performance and privacy or fix web browsing issues.
  1. Open Mozilla Firefox.
    Mozilla Firefox Icon
  2. Click the Menu button in the top right of the screen.
    Menu button
  3. Click on Options.
    Options highlighted
  4. Click on Privacy & Security.
    Privacy & Security highlighted
  5. Click the Clear History button located under the History category.
    Clear History button highlighted
  6. Select the time range you wish to clear.
    Time range highlighted
  7. Click the Details button to expand them.
    Details expand button highlighted
  8. Choose the item categories you wish to clear.
    Item categories highlighted
    Setting Checkbox
    Browsing & Download History Checked

    Browsing History - While you browse Your browser will keep track of every page you visit, to try to make it easier to return. This can become corrupt due to modern active web pages.

    Download History - These are a list of files you've downloaded recently. It is entirely safe to delete, or keep this list, as it won't affect pages. Checking this option does not delete the files you've downloaded, just the list the browser keeps.

    Form & Search History Checked
    Information from entering forms online, such as your name, address, or other filled in information. This does not affect how a page loads, and can slow you down on your most commonly used pages.
    Cookies Checked
    Cookies are how websites 'know' you when you visit them multiple times. This file can become corrupt, and simply downloading a new one can fix many problems.
    You will have to log back into any pages you use, such as mail or social media.
    Active Logins Checked
    Active logins are sites that you are currently logged into that you have asked to remember that you are logged into. Clearing them just logs you out of these sites.
    Offline Website Data Unchecked
    If you've allowed it, a website can store files on your computer so that you can continue to use it when you are not connected to the Internet.
    Site Preferences Unchecked
    Site specific preferences, including the saved zoom level for sites, character encoding, and the permissions for sites.
     
  9. Click the Clear Now button.
    Clear Now button highlighted
We use cookies on our website to enhance your experience, analyze site usage and support our marketing efforts. To learn more, visit our Privacy Policy. By clicking “Accept”, you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.
Accept